Guide · BankBridge
ACH Payment Processors for Small Business
ACH payment processors for small business compared on public pricing: Stripe, Square, PayPal, Braintree, Helcim, GoCardless and more, with WooCommerce support.
By the PluginLoom teamUpdated 9 min read24 sources
Our plugin for this
BankBridge from $79/mo
Plaid for WordPress. Customers link, verify and pay by bank on WooCommerce, Elementor and MemberPress.
- 14-day store credit
- Secure checkout by Stripe
- Cancel any time
BankBridge from $79/mo
Buy BankBridgeShort answer: for most small online businesses, the best ACH payment processor is the one that already runs your card payments, as long as its ACH fee is capped. On the pricing pages we checked on 26 October 2026, Stripe, Braintree and GoCardless all capped an ACH debit at $5, Helcim capped it at $6, and Square capped it at $5 for online API payments. None of them offered free ACH debits. If you sell on WooCommerce, check plugin support before price: a cheap processor with no working plugin costs more in developer time than it saves.
What does an ACH payment processor do?#
An ACH payment processor pulls money from your customer's US bank account (an ACH debit) after the customer authorizes it, sends it through the ACH network and pays it out to your bank. For a store, that means a "pay by bank" option next to cards.
Three things differ between providers, and they matter more than the headline rate:
- Fee shape. A percentage with a cap is cheap on large orders. A percentage with no cap is not.
- How the bank account is verified. A bank login is quicker for the customer and fails less often than typed account numbers checked with micro-deposits.
- Where it works. Some ACH options only exist on invoices, or only through an API, not in a WooCommerce checkout.
ACH payment processors compared#
Fees below are the public rates on each provider's US pricing page on 26 October 2026. "Not stated" means the page we checked did not say.
| Provider | Per ACH payment | Monthly fee | Settlement or deposit time | Verification | WordPress / WooCommerce |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe ACH Direct Debit | 0.8%, $5.00 cap (1.2% for two-day settlement, no cap listed) | None | Up to 4 business days; 2 days if eligible | Financial Connections bank login, or micro-deposits | Free WooCommerce Stripe Payment Gateway lists ACH Direct Debit |
| Braintree (PayPal) | 0.75%, $5.00 cap; same-day window 1.5% + $0.10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Braintree for WooCommerce lists "ACH Direct Debit, US/USD" |
| PayPal ACH Services | 0.80%, $5.00 cap, subject to approval | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not confirmed in the PayPal Payments plugin docs |
| Square | 1%, $1 min, $5 cap (API); invoices 1%, $1 min, $10 cap on paid plans | Free plan has none | Not stated | Not stated | Square for WooCommerce does not mention ACH |
| Helcim | 0.5% + 25¢, $6 cap (plus 0.05% over $25,000) | None | Typically 3 to 5 business days after settlement | Not stated | Plugin docs list cards only |
| GoCardless Standard | 0.5% + $0.05, $5 cap (domestic) | None listed | Two-day payouts on Advanced and Pro, not Standard | Not stated | GoCardless extension lists "BACS, SEPA, ACH" |
| Authorize.net Gateway + eCheck | 0.75% | $25 gateway fee | Typically 3 to 5 business days | Typed account numbers; check your plugin | Third-party plugins, for example one with 10,000+ installs that "fully supports eCheck" |
| QuickBooks Payments | 1%, $1 min, no cap listed | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No official Intuit plugin found |
| Dwolla | Custom quote | Custom quote | Not stated | Not stated | Custom build |
| Plaid Transfer | Quote from Plaid | Quote from Plaid | Depends on rail | Plaid Link bank login | BankBridge (our plugin) |
Two things stand out. First, the capped providers cluster at $5 to $6 per payment once an order passes about $1,000. Second, the gaps in this table are real: several providers do not publish settlement times or verification methods on their pricing pages, so ask before you sign up.
What each ACH processor costs on real orders#
Here is the per-payment fee at four order sizes, worked out from the published rates above. Monthly fees are not included.
| Order | Stripe | Braintree | GoCardless | Helcim | Square (API) | QuickBooks | Authorize.net |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 | $0.80 | $0.75 | $0.55 | $0.75 | $1.00 | $1.00 | $0.75 |
| $500 | $4.00 | $3.75 | $2.55 | $2.75 | $5.00 | $5.00 | $3.75 |
| $1,000 | $5.00 | $5.00 | $5.00 | $5.25 | $5.00 | $10.00 | $7.50 |
| $5,000 | $5.00 | $5.00 | $5.00 | $6.00 | $5.00 | $50.00 | $37.50 |
How to read it:
- Small orders: GoCardless's 0.5% + $0.05 is the lowest per payment. Helcim and Braintree are close.
- Large orders: any $5 cap wins. QuickBooks and Authorize.net, with no cap listed, cost ten times more on a $5,000 order.
- Authorize.net's $25 a month matters for a small store. At 20 eChecks a month that is another $1.25 per payment.
Then add the extras each provider lists. Stripe charges $1.50 per instant bank verification (micro-deposits are free), $4.00 for a failed payment and $15.00 for a disputed payment. GoCardless lists a $5 failure fee and a $0.50 refund fee. PayPal and Braintree list $5.00 for a returned ACH payment and $5.00 for one disputed as unauthorized. On a store with many failed debits, these fees can outweigh the gap in headline rates.
Is there free ACH payment processing for small business?#
Not for debits. None of the processors we checked charge zero to pull a payment from a customer's account. The closest things to free are:
- No monthly fee. Stripe says it does not charge setup or monthly fees on standard pricing. Helcim says it has no account monthly fees. Square's Free plan has no subscription.
- Receiving a bank transfer your customer sends. If the customer pushes money to you from their own bank (an ACH credit), your bank may not charge to receive it. Chase's business fee schedule, effective 14 June 2026, lists ACH transactions as no charge on Chase Business Complete Checking.
The second route has real costs of its own. You do not get a checkout button, you match each deposit to an order by hand, and you cannot start a recurring charge. It is fine for a few large invoices. It does not scale to a store.
Your own bank's ACH service is another option people ask about. Chase, for example, lists its ACH payment service for paying vendors at $2.50 each for the first 10 payments a month and $0.15 after that, with Same Day ACH at 1% capped at $25. That page describes sending payments out, not collecting from customers at checkout, so ask your bank whether it offers debit origination and what approval it needs.
Which ACH processor should a small business choose?#
Start from what you already run.
| Your situation | Likely best fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| WooCommerce store already on Stripe | Stripe ACH Direct Debit | Free plugin, $5 cap, no new account |
| Already on Braintree or PayPal Braintree | Braintree ACH Direct Debit | 0.75% with a $5 cap, WooCommerce extension lists ACH |
| Mostly invoices, few web orders | Square or QuickBooks invoices, or a customer-sent bank transfer | Low setup; watch the 1% with no cap on QuickBooks |
| Many small recurring payments | GoCardless | Lowest fee on small amounts in our table |
| Already on Authorize.net | Add eCheck | One gateway, but $25 a month on top |
| Marketplace or payouts, high volume | Dwolla or Plaid Transfer | Custom pricing and APIs built for money movement |
| Need bank login, balance and ownership checks before shipping, on WooCommerce and MemberPress | Plaid with a processor, or Plaid Transfer | Verification and risk checks, not only payment |
Be honest about volume. If you take ten bank payments a month, the difference between $0.55 and $0.80 is $2.50. The real cost is a failed debit on an order you already shipped.
The problem the price table hides: failed debits#
ACH is not a guaranteed payment. Stripe says ACH Direct Debit "can take up to 4 business days to receive acknowledgement of success or failure", and a debit can fail for insufficient funds, a wrong account number or a closed account. Stripe also says customers can dispute a debit on a personal account for up to 60 calendar days.
Every failure costs you twice: the processor's failure fee, and the goods or access you already gave. And returns count against your business under Nacha's rules, explained in Nacha return rate thresholds. The codes you will see are in ACH return codes.
Most processors handle the payment well. What varies is what you know about the account before you debit it: is it real, is it the buyer's, and does it hold the money? That is the gap Plaid fills, and it is what BankBridge brings to WordPress.
Our plugin for this
BankBridge from $79/mo
Plaid for WordPress. Customers link, verify and pay by bank on WooCommerce, Elementor and MemberPress.
How verification differs between processors#
Since 19 March 2021, Nacha has required online (WEB) debit originators to "at a minimum, validate the account to be debited" the first time it is used. There are three common ways, and they change your failure rate and checkout speed:
- Bank login. The customer signs in to their bank in a pop-up, picks an account, and the processor receives tokenized account details. Stripe uses Financial Connections; Plaid uses Link.
- Micro-deposits. Two small deposits are sent, and the customer confirms the amounts. Stripe gives customers 10 days to verify. It is free on Stripe, but the order waits.
- Typed numbers with a validation check. Fast to build, slower to trust.
A bank login also lets you add checks that micro-deposits cannot, such as a balance check before a large debit. Read bank account verification for WordPress for the full comparison, and Plaid vs Stripe Financial Connections if you are choosing between the two bank-login tools.
Questions to ask any ACH processor before you sign up#
The public pricing pages answer the fee question. These are the questions they often leave out:
- What is the fee for a failed or returned payment, and for a dispute? Stripe, GoCardless, PayPal and Braintree publish these. Others may not.
- When does the money reach my bank? Ask for business days from payment creation, and whether new accounts wait longer.
- How is the account verified? Bank login, micro-deposits, or neither.
- Is there a cap, and does it apply to every speed? Stripe's $5 cap applies to standard settlement; its 1.2% two-day option lists no cap.
- Does it work in my checkout? Ask for the plugin name and check that it supports the WooCommerce Checkout block if you use it.
- Can I collect recurring payments? And who retries a failed one.
- Are there limits per payment or per month? Stripe lists a $0.50 minimum; other limits are often set during underwriting.
Do you need same-day ACH?#
Usually not for a store. Same Day ACH speeds up settlement but costs more: Braintree lists 1.5% + $0.10 for its same-day window against 0.75% standard, and Stripe lists 1.2% with no cap for two-day settlement. The debit can still be returned afterwards. If speed is the real need, read Can you accept ACH payments instantly? first.
Setting it up on WooCommerce#
The setup steps are in How to accept ACH payments in WooCommerce, and the costs on Stripe specifically are broken down in Stripe ACH fees. If you want a broader eCheck view across gateways, see How to accept eCheck payments on WordPress. For memberships, see ACH payments for membership sites.
How BankBridge fits with your ACH processor#
BankBridge is not a payment processor and does not replace one. It is a WordPress plugin that adds Plaid Link to WooCommerce checkout and MemberPress signups, so the customer logs in to their bank and picks an account instead of typing numbers. Before the debit, it can use Plaid Balance to check available funds, Plaid Identity to compare the account owner with the buyer, and Plaid Signal to score the chance of a return. The money then moves through a processor such as Stripe or Dwolla using a Plaid processor token, or through Plaid Transfer if Plaid approves your business (WooCommerce doc).
Plans start at $79 a month for a single site, with $149 for five sites and $299 for unlimited sites. Plaid bills its own fees to your Plaid account, and its pricing page lists plans but no prices, so ask Plaid for a quote. If all you need is Stripe ACH with micro-deposits on one store, the free Stripe plugin may be enough, and we would rather you know that.
You can try the bank connection in Plaid's Sandbox on the live demo, then pick a plan.
This guide is general information, not legal or financial advice. Prices are from the providers' public pages on 26 October 2026 and change over time; your own rate may differ after underwriting. Plaid, Stripe, PayPal, Braintree, Square, Helcim, GoCardless, Authorize.net, QuickBooks and Dwolla are trademarks of their owners; BankBridge is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest ACH payment processor for a small business?
It depends on your order size. On the pricing pages we checked on 26 October 2026, GoCardless Standard was 0.5% + $0.05 capped at $5 for US payments, Helcim was 0.5% + 25¢ capped at $6, Braintree was 0.75% capped at $5 and Stripe was 0.8% capped at $5. On a $100 order GoCardless was lowest; on large orders the $5 caps from GoCardless, Stripe and Braintree came out ahead of Helcim's $6 cap.
Is there free ACH payment processing for small business?
Not for pulling money from a customer's account at checkout. Every processor we checked charges per debit. What can be free is receiving a bank transfer that your customer sends: Chase's fee schedule, for example, lists ACH transactions as no charge on Chase Business Complete Checking. That works for invoices, but it does not give you an automated checkout or a way to collect recurring payments.
What is the difference between an ACH processor and an ACH payment gateway?
A gateway is the software that collects the payment details and sends the request; the processor (or the bank behind it) submits the ACH entry and settles the money. Many providers, such as Stripe, Square and Helcim, do both. Authorize.net sells a gateway plan with eCheck added for $25 a month plus 0.75% per eCheck on its pricing page.
Does PayPal offer ACH payments for merchants?
PayPal's US business fees page lists ACH Services at 0.80% capped at $5.00 per transaction, subject to eligibility and approval, and Pay by Bank (ACH) on invoices at 1% capped at $10.00. Braintree, which PayPal owns, lists ACH Direct Debit at 0.75% capped at $5.00. A standard PayPal Checkout payment funded from the buyer's bank is charged at the normal commercial rate, not an ACH rate.
How long does ACH payment processing take?
Usually two to five business days. Stripe says ACH Direct Debit settles in up to 4 business days, or 2 for eligible accounts that pay 1.2% for faster settlement. Authorize.net says eChecks typically take three to five business days, and Helcim says ACH deposits typically arrive in 3 to 5 business days after settlement.
Can I accept ACH payments on WooCommerce?
Yes. The free WooCommerce Stripe Payment Gateway lists ACH Direct Debit, the Braintree for WooCommerce extension lists ACH Direct Debit for US merchants, GoCardless has a WooCommerce extension that lists ACH, and there are Authorize.net plugins with eCheck. BankBridge adds Plaid bank login with a processor or Plaid Transfer.
Sources
The date shows when we last checked that the source still says what we say it says.
- Stripe: Pricingstripe.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Stripe: Local payment methods pricing (ACH Direct Debit)stripe.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Stripe Docs: ACH Direct Debitdocs.stripe.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Square: Our fees (US)squareup.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal: Business fees (US)paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal: Braintree fees (US)paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Authorize.net: Pricingauthorize.net. Checked 2026-10-26
- Authorize.net: eCheck paymentsauthorize.net. Checked 2026-10-26
- Helcim: Pricinghelcim.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Helcim: How long does funding take?learn.helcim.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Helcim: Payments plugin for WooCommercelearn.helcim.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- QuickBooks: Payment ratesquickbooks.intuit.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- GoCardless: US pricinggocardless.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- WooCommerce Marketplace: GoCardlesswoocommerce.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- WooCommerce Marketplace: Braintree for WooCommercewoocommerce.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Dwolla: Pricingdwolla.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Plaid: Pricingplaid.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Plaid Docs: Transferplaid.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Nacha: Supplementing Fraud Detection Standards for WEB Debitsnacha.org. Checked 2026-10-26
- Chase: ACH payment services for businesschase.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Chase: Additional Banking Services and Fees for Business Accounts (effective 14 June 2026)chase.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- WordPress.org: WooCommerce Stripe Payment Gatewaywordpress.org. Checked 2026-10-26
- WordPress.org: Square for WooCommercewordpress.org. Checked 2026-10-26
- WordPress.org: Secure Gateway for Authorize.net and WooCommercewordpress.org. Checked 2026-10-26
The short version
Put this guide to work with BankBridge
The problem
Adding Plaid to WordPress usually means a custom build: Link tokens, an OAuth redirect, webhooks, and a way to tie bank accounts to orders and members.
How BankBridge solves it
BankBridge does that work as a plugin. You add your own Plaid keys, place Plaid Link with a block or shortcode, and it handles verification, webhooks and the WooCommerce and MemberPress hooks.
Plans
Single site
$79per month
Buy BankBridge, Single site5 sitesRecommended
$149per month
Buy BankBridge, 5 sitesUnlimited sites
$299per month
Buy BankBridge, Unlimited sites
- 14-day store credit
- Secure checkout by Stripe
- Cancel any time