Guide · BankBridge
PayPal ACH Payments: Fees, eChecks and Holds
PayPal ACH payments explained: ACH Services and Braintree fees, Pay by Bank invoices, eChecks, bank transfers to PayPal, holds, and WooCommerce options.
By the PluginLoom teamUpdated 7 min read11 sources
Our plugin for this
BankBridge from $79/mo
Plaid for WordPress. Customers link, verify and pay by bank on WooCommerce, Elementor and MemberPress.
- 14-day store credit
- Secure checkout by Stripe
- Cancel any time
BankBridge from $79/mo
Buy BankBridgeShort answer: "PayPal ACH" means different things. For a merchant, PayPal lists ACH Services at 0.80% capped at $5.00 (subject to PayPal's approval), Pay by Bank (ACH) on invoices at 1% capped at $10.00, and Braintree ACH Direct Debit at 0.75% capped at $5.00, on the US fee pages we checked on 26 October 2026. A buyer paying through normal PayPal Checkout from their bank is something else: an eCheck, charged at PayPal's commercial rate and taking 4 to 7 business days to clear. And moving money from your own bank into PayPal usually takes up to 5 business days. On WooCommerce, the ACH route PayPal documents is Braintree.
The four kinds of "PayPal ACH"#
| What it is | Who pays whom | Fee on the pages we checked | Timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACH Services (PayPal Online Payment Services) | Your customer's bank account to you | 0.80%, capped at $5.00; $5.00 per return or unauthorized dispute | Not stated on the fee page |
| Braintree ACH Direct Debit | Your customer's bank account to you | 0.75%, capped at $5.00; same-day window 1.5% + $0.10; $5.00 per return or unauthorized dispute | Disbursed on the 4th business day; in your bank by the 5th |
| Pay by Bank (ACH) on PayPal invoices | Your customer pays your invoice from their bank | 1%, capped at $10.00 | Not stated on the fee page |
| eCheck (bank-funded PayPal payment) | Buyer funds a PayPal payment from their bank | Your normal receiving rate (PayPal Checkout 3.49% + 49¢), capped at $300 | Usually 4 to 7 business days to clear |
Two more ACH flows involve your own money rather than your customers':
- Adding money from your bank to PayPal: PayPal says it "usually takes up to 5 business days."
- Withdrawing to your bank: PayPal lists no fee for a standard withdrawal to an eligible linked bank account without currency conversion, and 1.50% for an instant withdrawal.
PayPal's fee page says use of its online payment services is "subject to eligibility, application, and approval by PayPal." It does not say which integration ACH Services applies to, so ask PayPal before you plan around it.
PayPal ACH fees on real payments#
Using the published rates above. The card column uses PayPal's standard credit and debit card rate of 2.99% plus the 49¢ US fixed fee.
| Payment | ACH Services (0.80%, $5 cap) | Braintree ACH (0.75%, $5 cap) | Invoice Pay by Bank (1%, $10 cap) | Standard card (2.99% + 49¢) | PayPal Checkout (3.49% + 49¢) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 | $0.80 | $0.75 | $1.00 | $3.48 | $3.98 |
| $500 | $4.00 | $3.75 | $5.00 | $15.44 | $17.94 |
| $1,000 | $5.00 | $5.00 | $10.00 | $30.39 | $35.39 |
| $5,000 | $5.00 | $5.00 | $10.00 | $149.99 | $174.99 |
The bank-funded PayPal Checkout payment (an eCheck) is in the last column, not the ACH columns. Its fee is capped at $300 under PayPal's eCheck cap, so it only stops growing at very large amounts. If your buyers pay PayPal from their bank, you are not getting an ACH price.
PayPal's chargeback fee for card disputes is $20.00. For comparison, Stripe lists ACH Direct Debit at 0.8% capped at $5.00, with $4.00 for a failed payment and $15.00 for a disputed one.
Braintree ACH Direct Debit: the details#
Braintree is where PayPal documents ACH for developers. From its ACH guide:
- Eligibility: merchants "Located in the United States" who transact in USD. ACH is "currently not available in our Drop-in UI," so it needs a custom integration.
- Verification: four methods: instant verification, network check, micro-transfers and independent check. Braintree recommends "at least one backup method."
- Timing: Braintree waits "3 business days for any returns" before disbursing. Funds are disbursed on the 4th business day and should reach your bank by the 5th.
- Disputes: 2 calendar days for business accounts and 60 calendar days for personal accounts to report an unauthorized debit.
- Recurring: "Braintree's recurring billing currently does not support repeat payments with bank accounts," although bank accounts can be vaulted.
- Fees: a $5 fee for returns or disputes, as on the Braintree fee page.
That recurring limitation matters for subscriptions. If you plan to bill members monthly by bank, check how your plugin handles repeat charges before you commit.
Why is a PayPal ACH payment on hold?#
People use "PayPal ACH hold" for three different situations.
1. A pending eCheck. When a buyer funds a PayPal payment from their bank, it arrives as an eCheck. PayPal says it "usually takes between 4-7 business days to clear," weekends and holidays excluded, and tells sellers: "Don't ship any items or provide any services until the eCheck clears." If it fails, you may not be paid.
2. A seller hold. PayPal says it holds "the initial payments you receive for up to 21 days" as you start selling, or start again after a break, "to cover any potential buyer complaints." Its help center lists other reasons: refunds and disputes, an unusual selling pattern such as a sudden spike, higher-risk items like tickets or electronics, and unfinished identity verification. To see your options, PayPal says to log in and click "Know your options" under your balance.
3. Money you added from your bank. Moving funds from your linked bank to your PayPal balance "usually takes up to 5 business days."
None of these is a fee, but all of them delay cash. If you ship physical goods, the eCheck case is the one to plan for.
PayPal ACH on WooCommerce#
| Plugin | ACH support in its documentation |
|---|---|
| Braintree for WooCommerce | Lists "ACH Direct Debit" for US merchants in USD, "with vaulting for recurring products" |
| WooCommerce PayPal Payments | The documentation we checked does not mention ACH or bank payments |
So if you want PayPal-family ACH at a WooCommerce checkout, Braintree is the documented route. Note the gap between the WooCommerce listing (vaulting for recurring products) and Braintree's own guide (its recurring billing does not support repeat bank payments); test renewals in sandbox before you launch a membership on it.
Other WooCommerce routes:
- Stripe ACH Direct Debit through the free WooCommerce Stripe Payment Gateway, which lists ACH Direct Debit. Costs are in Stripe ACH fees.
- Other ACH processors, compared side by side in ACH payment processors for small business.
- Plaid with a processor, or Plaid Transfer, covered below.
Which PayPal ACH option fits your business?#
| Your situation | Best PayPal option | What to watch |
|---|---|---|
| You send invoices and want customers to pay by bank | Pay by Bank (ACH) on PayPal invoices | 1% up to a $10 cap; fine for large invoices |
| You run a custom checkout or app on Braintree | Braintree ACH Direct Debit | Custom integration (not in Drop-in UI); repeat bank charges not supported by Braintree recurring billing |
| You are approved for PayPal Online Payment Services | ACH Services | Ask PayPal which integration and checkout it applies to |
| You use standard PayPal Checkout | Nothing to turn on: bank-funded payments arrive as eChecks | You pay the full checkout rate and wait 4 to 7 business days |
| You need to move your own money into PayPal | Add money from your bank | Up to 5 business days |
Questions to ask PayPal before you rely on ACH#
The public fee pages answer the price question. These are the ones they leave open:
- Which integration does ACH Services cover? The fee page lists it but does not name the product.
- How is the customer's bank account verified? Braintree documents four methods; ask which your account can use.
- When do funds reach my bank? Braintree documents the 4th and 5th business day; ask for the same answer for ACH Services and invoices.
- What happens on a return? PayPal lists $5.00 for a returned ACH payment and $5.00 for one disputed as unauthorized. Ask whether the order or invoice is reopened automatically.
- Can I charge the same bank account again? This matters for subscriptions, given Braintree's recurring billing limitation.
Get the answers in writing before you change your checkout.
When PayPal is the right ACH choice#
PayPal or Braintree ACH makes sense when:
- You already process through Braintree and can add ACH to the same account.
- You send invoices from PayPal and want customers to pay by bank, accepting the $10 cap.
- Your buyers trust PayPal and you are happy to pay the eCheck rate for that trust on smaller orders.
It makes less sense when you need a drop-in checkout without custom code (Braintree ACH is not in Drop-in UI), when you bill recurring payments by bank, or when you want bank login plus balance and ownership checks before shipping.
That last point is the common gap. Whichever processor sends the debit, a store loses money when a bank payment fails after the goods have gone out. PayPal's own advice for eChecks is not to ship until they clear. The alternative is to check the account before you debit it.
Our plugin for this
BankBridge from $79/mo
Plaid for WordPress. Customers link, verify and pay by bank on WooCommerce, Elementor and MemberPress.
For the verification options and Nacha's first-use rule, see bank account verification for WordPress. For subscriptions by bank, see ACH payments for membership sites.
How BankBridge adds bank payments to WooCommerce#
BankBridge adds Plaid Link to WooCommerce checkout and MemberPress signups. The customer logs in to their bank through Plaid and picks an account, and before the debit BankBridge can run Plaid Balance for available funds, Plaid Identity to compare the account owner with the buyer, and Plaid Signal to score the chance of a return. The money moves through a processor such as Stripe or Dwolla, or through Plaid Transfer if Plaid approves your business (WooCommerce doc). BankBridge does not connect to PayPal or Braintree ACH, and you can keep PayPal for card and wallet payments alongside it.
Plans start at $79 a month for a single site ($149 for five sites, $299 for unlimited), and Plaid bills its own fees. If you only need occasional bank payments on PayPal invoices, PayPal's Pay by Bank may be enough. For a store checkout, try the bank login in Plaid's Sandbox on the live demo, then pick a plan.
This guide is general information, not legal or financial advice. Fees and timings are from PayPal's, Braintree's and Stripe's public pages on 26 October 2026 and change over time; PayPal services are subject to its approval. PayPal, Braintree, Stripe and Plaid are trademarks of their owners; BankBridge is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them.
Frequently asked questions
Does PayPal accept ACH payments?
In several ways. PayPal's US business fees page lists ACH Services at 0.80% capped at $5.00, subject to eligibility and PayPal's approval, and Pay by Bank (ACH) on invoices at 1% capped at $10.00. Braintree, PayPal's enterprise gateway, lists ACH Direct Debit at 0.75% capped at $5.00. A normal PayPal Checkout payment that the buyer funds from their bank is an eCheck, charged at the standard commercial rate.
How much does PayPal charge for ACH?
On the pages we checked on 26 October 2026: ACH Services 0.80% capped at $5.00, with $5.00 for a returned payment and $5.00 for one disputed as unauthorized; invoice Pay by Bank (ACH) 1% capped at $10.00; Braintree ACH Direct Debit 0.75% capped at $5.00, or 1.5% + $0.10 for the same-day window. A bank-funded PayPal Checkout payment is charged 3.49% plus a 49¢ fixed fee, with an eCheck fee cap of $300.
How long does a PayPal ACH transfer take?
It depends on which transfer you mean. PayPal says adding money from your bank to your PayPal balance usually takes up to 5 business days, and that an incoming eCheck usually takes 4 to 7 business days to clear. Braintree says it waits 3 business days for returns on ACH Direct Debit, disburses on the 4th business day, and funds should reach your bank by the 5th.
Why is my PayPal ACH payment on hold?
Two different things get called a hold. An eCheck shows as pending until the buyer's bank payment clears, usually 4 to 7 business days, and PayPal tells sellers not to ship until it clears. Separately, PayPal may hold a new or returning seller's initial payments for up to 21 days, or hold funds after disputes, unusual selling patterns or incomplete identity checks.
Can I take PayPal ACH payments in WooCommerce?
Through Braintree, yes: the Braintree for WooCommerce extension lists ACH Direct Debit for US merchants in USD. The WooCommerce PayPal Payments documentation we checked does not mention ACH or bank payments. Alternatives include the free Stripe gateway with ACH Direct Debit, or Plaid with a processor.
Is PayPal ACH cheaper than taking cards through PayPal?
Yes, by a wide margin on large payments. On a $1,000 payment, PayPal's standard card rate of 2.99% plus 49¢ is $30.39, while ACH Services at 0.80% capped at $5.00 is $5.00. A bank-funded PayPal Checkout payment is not an ACH rate: it is 3.49% plus 49¢, or $35.39 on $1,000.
Sources
The date shows when we last checked that the source still says what we say it says.
- PayPal: Business fees (US)paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal: Braintree fees (US)paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal Developer: Braintree ACH Direct Debit guidedeveloper.paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal Help: Why is my incoming eCheck pending?paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal Help: How long does it take to add money from my bank?paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal Help: New PayPal sellers, payments on holdpaypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal Help: Why is my payment on hold or unavailable?paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- WooCommerce Marketplace: Braintree for WooCommercewoocommerce.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- WooCommerce Docs: WooCommerce PayPal Paymentswoocommerce.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Stripe: Local payment methods pricing (ACH Direct Debit)stripe.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- WordPress.org: WooCommerce Stripe Payment Gatewaywordpress.org. Checked 2026-10-26
The short version
Put this guide to work with BankBridge
The problem
Adding Plaid to WordPress usually means a custom build: Link tokens, an OAuth redirect, webhooks, and a way to tie bank accounts to orders and members.
How BankBridge solves it
BankBridge does that work as a plugin. You add your own Plaid keys, place Plaid Link with a block or shortcode, and it handles verification, webhooks and the WooCommerce and MemberPress hooks.
Plans
Single site
$79per month
Buy BankBridge, Single site5 sitesRecommended
$149per month
Buy BankBridge, 5 sitesUnlimited sites
$299per month
Buy BankBridge, Unlimited sites
- 14-day store credit
- Secure checkout by Stripe
- Cancel any time