Guide · BankBridge
Credit Card Processing Fees for Small Business
Credit card processing fees for small business: interchange, markup, pricing models, published Stripe, Square, PayPal and Shopify rates, and how to pay less.
By the PluginLoom teamUpdated 8 min read13 sources
Our plugin for this
BankBridge from $79/mo
Plaid for WordPress. Customers link, verify and pay by bank on WooCommerce, Elementor and MemberPress.
- 14-day store credit
- Secure checkout by Stripe
- Cancel any time
BankBridge from $79/mo
Buy BankBridgeShort answer: most small businesses pay about 2.9% + 30¢ per online card payment on the flat-rate processors we checked on 26 October 2026, and 2.4% to 2.7% plus a small fixed fee in person. That price bundles three costs: interchange (paid to the card's bank), network fees, and the processor's markup. You can lower it by moving to interchange-plus pricing as you grow, cutting keyed-in and disputed payments, and taking large or recurring payments by ACH bank transfer, which costs 0.8% capped at $5 on Stripe. To see your own numbers, try the card vs ACH fee calculator.
What makes up a credit card processing fee?#
Every card payment carries three layers of cost:
| Layer | Who gets it | Who sets it | Can you negotiate it? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interchange | The cardholder's bank (the issuer) | The card network (Visa, Mastercard and so on) | No |
| Network (assessment) fees | The card network | The card network | No |
| Processor markup | Your processor or payment company | Your processor | Yes, as volume grows |
Interchange is the largest part, and it varies with the type of card (debit, credit, rewards, business), how it is taken (in person or online) and the merchant's category. The Federal Reserve publishes data on debit cards, which fall under its Regulation II: in 2024, the average interchange fee was 23 cents per transaction (0.47% of the average transaction) for regulated (covered) debit issuers, and 51 cents (1.21%) for exempt issuers.
That debit figure explains a lot. On a flat 2.9% + 30¢ plan, a $100 debit card payment costs you $3.20, even though the issuer's share on a regulated card is typically far less. The difference covers network fees and the processor's margin, plus the processor's risk on credit cards that cost it more.
Pricing models: flat rate, interchange-plus and subscription#
Processors package those layers in three main ways.
| Model | How it works | Example on the pages we checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flat rate | One price for most cards, whatever interchange costs | Stripe 2.9% + 30¢ online; Square 2.9% + 30¢ on paid plans | New and low-volume businesses that want simple, predictable fees |
| Interchange-plus (IC+) | Pass-through interchange and network fees, plus a fixed markup | Helcim: interchange plus 0.50% + 25¢ for online and keyed cards under $50,000 a month, falling with volume | Growing businesses with many debit or low-cost cards |
| Subscription or plan-based | A monthly fee buys a lower card rate | Shopify Payments: 2.9% + 30¢ on Basic ($39 a month billed monthly), 2.5% + 30¢ on Advanced ($399 a month) | Higher-volume sellers already on that platform |
Stripe also lists "IC+ pricing, discounted flat rates, subscriptions, and buy-rates for platforms" as custom options for "businesses with large payments volume or unique business models", and Square says businesses processing over $250,000 a year can ask about custom pricing.
Published credit card processing fees compared#
These are list prices for US businesses, from each provider's own pricing page on 26 October 2026. Your rate after underwriting may differ.
| Provider | Online card | In person | Monthly fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | 2.9% + 30¢ | 2.7% + 5¢ | None | +1.5% international cards, +1% currency conversion, +0.5% manually entered cards; $15 dispute fee |
| Square | 3.3% + 30¢ (Free plan); 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus, Premium); 2.9% + 30¢ via API | 2.6% + 15¢ (Free); 2.5% + 15¢ (Plus); 2.4% + 15¢ (Premium) | Free plan: none | Plus and Premium are paid plans with a 30-day trial |
| PayPal | PayPal Checkout 3.49% + 49¢; standard card payments 2.99% + 49¢; Advanced card payments 2.89% + fixed fee | Not compared here | Not stated | +1.5% international; $20 chargeback fee |
| Braintree | 2.89% + 29¢ | Not compared here | Not stated | PayPal's enterprise gateway |
| Shopify Payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Basic), 2.7% + 30¢ (Grow), 2.5% + 30¢ (Advanced) | 2.6% + 10¢, 2.5% + 10¢, 2.4% + 10¢ | $39, $105, $399 billed monthly | Using another processor adds 2%, 1% or 0.6% |
| QuickBooks Payments | 2.99% (cards and digital wallets) | Not compared here | Not stated | 3.5% for keyed-in cards |
| Helcim | Interchange + 0.50% + 25¢ (under $50,000 a month) | Interchange + 0.40% + 8¢ | None | Markup falls with volume |
| Authorize.net | 2.9% + 30¢ (All-in-one) | Not compared here | $25 | Gateway-only plan: 10¢ per transaction + 10¢ daily batch fee, plus your merchant account |
Two traps in this table. PayPal's fixed fee is 49¢, not 30¢, which matters on small orders. And Shopify's lower rates come with a higher monthly plan, so they only pay off above a certain volume.
What is your real (effective) rate?#
The headline percentage is not what you pay. Your effective rate is total fees divided by card sales, and the fixed fee pushes it up on small orders. On a 2.9% + 30¢ plan:
| Order | Fee | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|
| $10 | $0.59 | 5.9% |
| $20 | $0.88 | 4.4% |
| $50 | $1.75 | 3.5% |
| $100 | $3.20 | 3.2% |
| $1,000 | $29.30 | 2.93% |
Add disputes ($15 each on Stripe, $20 on PayPal), international cards and any monthly fee, then divide by sales. If your effective rate is well above the headline rate, the cause is usually small tickets, foreign cards or chargebacks.
Fees beyond the card rate#
The per-payment rate is only part of the bill. These are the other charges listed on the same pricing pages, and they are where many small businesses lose money without noticing:
| Fee | Example on the pages we checked |
|---|---|
| Chargeback or dispute | Stripe $15.00 per dispute, plus $15.00 if you counter it manually (refunded if you win); PayPal $20.00 |
| International card | +1.5% on Stripe and on PayPal commercial transactions |
| Currency conversion | +1% on Stripe |
| Monthly gateway fee | $25 on Authorize.net plans |
| Batch fee | 10¢ a day on Authorize.net's gateway-only plan |
| Fast access to your money | Stripe Instant Payouts 1.5% (50¢ minimum); QuickBooks instant deposit 1.75%; PayPal instant withdrawal 1.50% |
| Platform fee for using another processor | 0.6% to 2% on Shopify, depending on plan |
The instant payout fees deserve a second look. Paying 1.5% to get money today on top of 2.9% for the card itself takes a $1,000 sale from $29.30 in fees to $44.30. If cash flow is the reason, a standard payout schedule plus fewer large card payments usually costs less.
How to lower credit card processing fees#
- Measure first. Work out last month's effective rate from your statement.
- Ask about interchange-plus when you grow. With a fixed markup, you keep the savings on cheaper cards such as regulated debit.
- Avoid keyed-in cards. Stripe adds 0.5% for manually entered cards, and QuickBooks charges 3.5% for keyed-in payments against 2.99% otherwise.
- Cut disputes. Clear descriptors, fast refunds and good records save $15 to $20 a dispute, plus the lost sale.
- Check your platform fees. On Shopify, using a processor other than Shopify Payments adds 0.6% to 2%.
- Consider a surcharge, carefully. Visa's US rules allow a credit card surcharge capped at the lower of your merchant discount rate or 3%, not on debit or prepaid cards, with 30 days' notice to your acquirer. Some states restrict it.
- Move large and recurring payments to ACH. This is the biggest single saving for stores with high-ticket orders, invoices or memberships, explained next.
When ACH is cheaper than cards (the math)#
Card fees grow with the order. ACH fees mostly do not. Using Stripe's public US prices (cards 2.9% + 30¢, ACH Direct Debit 0.8% capped at $5.00):
| Order | Card | ACH Direct Debit | Saving per order | Saving on 20 orders a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 | $3.20 | $0.80 | $2.40 | $48 |
| $500 | $14.80 | $4.00 | $10.80 | $216 |
| $1,000 | $29.30 | $5.00 | $24.30 | $486 |
| $5,000 | $145.30 | $5.00 | $140.30 | $2,806 |
The ACH fee stops growing at $625, where 0.8% reaches the $5 cap. Above that, every extra dollar of order value adds 2.9¢ to the card fee and nothing to the ACH fee. Put in your own order sizes and monthly counts with the card vs ACH fee calculator.
ACH has its own costs, and you should count them:
- Verification. Stripe charges $1.50 per instant bank verification; micro-deposits are free but slower.
- Failures. Stripe lists $4.00 for a failed ACH payment and $15.00 for a disputed one.
- Time. Stripe says ACH Direct Debit can take up to 4 business days to confirm success or failure.
So ACH is a poor fit for a $15 impulse purchase shipped the same day, and a good fit for a $900 order, a B2B invoice, tuition, rent or a monthly membership. Most stores keep cards and add ACH as a second option, rather than replacing one with the other.
The weak point is the debit that bounces after you have shipped. That is where knowing the account is real, belongs to the buyer and holds the money pays for itself.
Our plugin for this
BankBridge from $79/mo
Plaid for WordPress. Customers link, verify and pay by bank on WooCommerce, Elementor and MemberPress.
Choosing where to take ACH#
If you want to add bank payments, the options and their fees are compared in ACH payment processors for small business, and Stripe's full ACH fee list, including faster settlement, is in Stripe ACH fees. For setup on WooCommerce, see How to accept ACH payments in WooCommerce. If you run memberships, see ACH payments for membership sites.
How BankBridge helps you move large payments off cards#
BankBridge adds a "pay by bank" option to WooCommerce checkout and MemberPress signups using Plaid. The customer logs in to their bank in Plaid's window and picks an account, so there are no routing numbers to type. Before the debit, BankBridge can run Plaid Balance to check available funds, Plaid Identity to compare the account owner with the buyer, and Plaid Signal to score the chance of a return. The money then moves through a processor such as Stripe (with a Plaid processor token) or through Plaid Transfer, as described in the WooCommerce doc.
Plans start at $79 a month for a single site, with $149 for five sites and $299 for unlimited. Plaid's fees and your processor's ACH fees are billed separately by them. If most of your orders are under $50, the card fee saving may not cover that, and cards alone may be the better choice. If you take large or recurring payments, try the bank connection in Plaid's Sandbox on the live demo, then pick a plan.
This guide is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice. Prices are from the providers' public pages on 26 October 2026 and change over time; your rate may differ after underwriting. Surcharging rules vary by card network and state. Stripe, Square, PayPal, Braintree, Shopify, QuickBooks, Helcim, Authorize.net, Visa and Plaid are trademarks of their owners; BankBridge is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them.
Frequently asked questions
What are average credit card processing fees for a small business?
There is no single official average for credit cards. For online payments, the published flat rates we checked on 26 October 2026 ran from 2.5% + 30¢ (Shopify Payments on the Advanced plan) to 3.49% plus a 49¢ fixed fee (PayPal Checkout), with most near 2.9% + 30¢. In person, rates were lower, from 2.4% + 10¢ to 2.7% + 5¢. For debit cards, the Federal Reserve reports that the average interchange fee in 2024 was 23 cents per transaction for regulated issuers.
Which processor has the lowest credit card processing fees?
At list price for online cards, Shopify Payments on the Advanced plan (2.5% + 30¢) was the lowest flat rate we found, but that plan costs $399 a month billed monthly. Among processors with no monthly fee, Stripe and Square's paid plans were 2.9% + 30¢. Interchange-plus pricing, such as Helcim's 0.50% + 25¢ margin on online cards below $50,000 a month, is often lower overall because you pay the card's real cost plus a fixed markup.
How can I lower my credit card processing fees?
Compare your effective rate (total fees divided by card sales), ask about interchange-plus pricing once your volume grows, avoid keyed-in card entry, keep chargebacks down, and steer large or recurring payments to ACH bank payments. On Stripe's public pricing, a $1,000 payment costs $29.30 by card and $5.00 by ACH Direct Debit.
Can I pass credit card fees on to customers?
In some cases. Visa's US rules allow a surcharge on credit cards that does not exceed the lower of your merchant discount rate or 3%, require you to notify your acquirer at least 30 days before you start, and do not allow surcharges on Visa debit or prepaid cards. Some states restrict surcharging, so check your state's law before you add one.
What is interchange-plus pricing?
Interchange-plus passes through the card network's wholesale cost (interchange and network fees) and adds a fixed markup that you can see on your statement. Helcim describes its pricing as a transparent interchange-plus model, and Stripe lists IC+ pricing among the custom options it offers to businesses with large payments volume.
Is ACH cheaper than credit card processing?
Almost always for larger payments. Stripe lists ACH Direct Debit at 0.8% capped at $5.00 and online cards at 2.9% + 30¢. The saving is $2.40 on a $100 order, $24.30 on $1,000 and $140.30 on $5,000. ACH takes up to 4 business days to confirm on Stripe and can be returned, so it suits invoices, high-ticket orders and memberships more than impulse buys.
Sources
The date shows when we last checked that the source still says what we say it says.
- Stripe: Pricingstripe.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Stripe: Local payment methods pricing (ACH Direct Debit)stripe.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Stripe Docs: ACH Direct Debitdocs.stripe.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Square: Our fees (US)squareup.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal: Business fees (US)paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- PayPal: Braintree fees (US)paypal.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Shopify: Pricingshopify.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- QuickBooks: Payment ratesquickbooks.intuit.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Helcim: Pricinghelcim.com. Checked 2026-10-26
- Authorize.net: Pricingauthorize.net. Checked 2026-10-26
- Federal Reserve Board: Regulation II average debit card interchange fee by networkfederalreserve.gov. Checked 2026-10-26
- Federal Reserve Board: Regulation II (Debit Card Interchange Fees and Routing)federalreserve.gov. Checked 2026-10-26
- Visa: U.S. Merchant Surcharge Q and Ausa.visa.com. Checked 2026-10-26
The short version
Put this guide to work with BankBridge
The problem
Adding Plaid to WordPress usually means a custom build: Link tokens, an OAuth redirect, webhooks, and a way to tie bank accounts to orders and members.
How BankBridge solves it
BankBridge does that work as a plugin. You add your own Plaid keys, place Plaid Link with a block or shortcode, and it handles verification, webhooks and the WooCommerce and MemberPress hooks.
Plans
Single site
$79per month
Buy BankBridge, Single site5 sitesRecommended
$149per month
Buy BankBridge, 5 sitesUnlimited sites
$299per month
Buy BankBridge, Unlimited sites
- 14-day store credit
- Secure checkout by Stripe
- Cancel any time